New Cosmograf Album

imageThe Unreasonable Silence

Cosmograf release a new album on 13th of June. It is available to pre order as a digital download now from Bandcamp

Cosmograf’s fifth studio album release is an existential concept album with an alien theme, based on the essay ‘The Myth of Sisyphus’ by the French philosopher Albert Camus.

“It’s essentially a more modern re-telling of Camus’s writings about mankind’s struggle to understand the universe and our role within it”, says the concept’s creator Robin Armstrong. “Camus described man standing face to face with the irrational which leads to a confrontation between the human need and the unreasonable silence of the world. “
Between our quest for knowledge and refusal of the world to give up its secrets, lies the concept of absurdism. In his original essay, Camus describes a mythological character, Sysiphus condemned to pointless labour in order to illustrate the absurdity of human existence. Robin Armstrong twists the story to portray a modern character that has become disillusioned with his own life to the point that he believes his destiny may reside in another world. As with previous Cosmograf albums, the tale is told with a very cinematic feel and explores the themes of paranoia, social withdrawal and conformity, and ultimately the search for meaning in our own existence.

Track List:
1. echo $abduction;
2. This Film Might Change Your Life
3. Plastic Men
4. Arcade Machine
5. RGB
6. Four Wall Euphoria
7. The Uniform Road
8. The Silent Field
9. Relativity
10. The Unreasonable Silence

The album is written and performed by Robin Armstrong with assistance from the following guest artists:
-Nick D Virgilio (Spock’s Beard/ Big Big Train), Drums – All tracks except RGB.
-Nick Beggs (Steven Wilson/Steve Hackett/ Mute Gods), Bass – Four Wall Euphoria.
-Dave Meros – (Spock’s Beard), Bass -Arcade Machine.
-Rachael Hawnt , Vocals – The Unreasonable Silence, Four Wall Euphoria, Relativity.
-Robin Armstrong – Vocals, all other instruments.
Voice Actors:
Redd Horrocks – ‘Emma, the girlfriend’. Josh at Rocketsound – ‘Connor Ramirez’. Andrew Whelbig – ‘Alien Eyewitness’. Martin Paine – ‘Tom’. Linnea Sage – ‘Amy Curtis’.
Katherine Thompson – ‘Sarah Erith’.
Rhiannon Owens – ‘Lisa Williams – Alien Eyewitness 2’.
Martin Hutchinson – ‘Martin Jones – Conspiracy Theorist 1’.
David Thompson – ‘Conspiracy Theorist 2’.
Steve Wilson – ‘Documentary Voice’.
Robin Armstrong – ‘Other Voices’.
releases June 13, 2016

Written and produced by Robin Armstrong
Recorded at The Trees, Waterlooville.
Drums engineered and recorded by Rob Aubrey at Aubitt Studios, Southampton. Rachael Hawnt recorded at Aubitt Studios, engineered by Rob Aubrey.
Mixed and Mastered by Robin Armstrong at The Trees.
Album artwork designed by Robin Armstrong


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s