Kansas to Release First New Album in 16 Years

phoenixWhile there has been talk of a new Kansas album for a few months now, the band made it official this past Tuesday. The new album, entitled The Prelude Implicit, is due out September 23, 2016, and it is their first album since 2000’s Somewhere to Elsewhere, which featured all original members of the band, including Kerry Livgren. Kansas began recording the new album in January of this year, after signing with InsideOut records.

The new album will be the first with the band’s new lineup:

  • Phil Ehart – drums
  • Rich Williams – guitar
  • Billy Greer – bass
  • David Manion – keyboards and vocals
  • Ronnie Platt – lead vocals and keyboards
  • David Ragsdale – violin

Rich Williams commented, “This is definitely a Kansas album. Whether it is the trademark Prog epic like ‘The Voyage of Eight Eighteen,’ biting rocker such as ‘Rhythm in the Spirit,’ or mindful ballad like ‘The Unsung Heroes,’ there is something on this album for every kind of Kansas fan. After years of pent-up creativity, the entire band is very proud of The Prelude Implicit.”

The album will be released on CD, double 180 gram vinyl, and digitally on iTunes and Google Play.


  1. With This Heart
  2. Visibility Zero
  3. The Unsung Heroes
  4. Rhythm in the Spirit
  5. Refugee
  6. The Voyage of Eight Eighteen
  7. Camouflage
  8. Summer
  9. Crowded Isolation
  10. Section 60

For more information and tour dates, check out the band’s website.

One thought on “Kansas to Release First New Album in 16 Years


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s